# USMS Convention — Garden Grove, California 2013

Committee Name: Dixie Zone		Session #: 1	Report #:
Committee Chair: Jerry Clark		Vice Chair:	
Minutes recorded by:	Lisa Watson	Date/time of meeting:	September 14, 2013 8 AM

## Actions Requiring Approval by the HOD:

## **Motions Passed:**

- 1. MSA TO USE THE \$205 CURRENTLY IN OUR DIXIE ZONE BUDGET TO FUND THE POSTING AND USE OF THE DOMAIN NAME ON THE DIXIE ZONE WEBSITE.
- 2. MSA TO AWARD THE 2014 DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIPS TO THE FOLLOWING BIDDERS: SCY-RALEIGH, NC; LCM-TUPELO,MS; SCM-ATLANTA, GA.
- 3. MSA TO DETERMINE THE SITE FOR THE DIXIE ZONE OPEN WATER CHAMPIONSHIPS WITH AN ONLINE VOTE OF THE LMSC CHAIRS AFTER THE CONVENTION.
- 4. MSA TO REQUIRE ALL DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIP EVENTS TO HAVE A MINIMUM OF 3 COMBINED TEAM AWARDS, WHICH SHALL HAVE THE WORDS "DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIP' INCLUDED IN SOME FORM. THIS INFORMATION SHALL BE LISTED IN THE MEET INFORMATION.
- 5. MSA TO ELECT MATT HOOPER AS THE NEXT DIXIE ZONE CHAIR.

Number of committee members present: 40	Absent:	Number of other delegates present:		
Committee members present (list all, including chair and vice	e chair): Jerry	Clark (Chair), Lisa Watson, Matt Hooper, Don		
Gilchrist, Greta Van Meeteren, Hans Van Meeteren, Ed Saltzman, Debbie Cavanaugh, Pat Baker, Diane Bartlett, Chris				
Powers, Helen Naylor, Viki Hul, Jon Blank, Laura Groselle,	Jack Groselle,	Susan Kuhlman, Luke Shaheen, Richard Garza		
Montry Handwick Danhana Aguinnua Laglia Saatt Changel Kur	on David Hal	mda Marianna Duadlay, Dah Janninga, Anna La		

Powers, Helen Naylor, Viki Hul, Jon Blank, Laura Groselle, Jack Groselle, Susan Kuhlman, Luke Shaheen, Richard Garza, Marty Hendrick, Barbara Aguirrre, Leslie Scott, Cheryl Kupan, David Holmds, Marianne Bradley, Bob Jennings, Anna Lea Matysek, Jim Matysek, Chris Frederic, Sean Fitzgerald, Debbie Cavanaugh, Cav Cavanaugh, Joan Campbell, Meegan Wilson, Barb Protzman, Cathy Fedako, Scott Bay, Rob Copeland, Maria Elias-Williams

## **Minutes**

The meeting was called to order at 8 AM

INTRODUCTION OF LMSC CHAIRS
 Chairman Jerry Clark introduced the various Dixie Zone LMSC Chairs: Southern-Chris Frederick; Southeastern-Helen
 Naylor; Florida Gold Coast-Matt Hooper; Florida-Scott Bay; Georgia-Lisa Watson; South Carolina- Diane Bartlett for Joel
 Schmaltz; North Carolina- Jon Blank. He also introduced Ed Saltzman who is in charge of Dixie Zone records and Barb
 Protzman, our Dixie Zone newsletter editor.
 All Dixie Zone methage introduced the protection of the protection of the protection.
 All Dixie Zone methage introduced the protection of the protection of the protection.
 All Dixie Zone methage introduced the protection of the protection of the protection.
 All Dixie Zone methage introduced the protection of the protection of the protection.
 All Dixie Zone methage introduced the protection of the protection of the protection.
 All Dixie Zone methages introduced the protection of the protection of the protection of the protection.
 Bis and the protection of the protection of

All Dixie Zone members introduced themselves and identified their LMSC.

- DIXIE ZONE BUDGET Jerry announced that we currently have \$205 in our Dixie Zone budget. He suggested using the funds to support Dick Brewer's efforts in maintaining the Dixie Zone website. MSA TO USE THE \$205 CURRENTLY IN OUR DIXIE ZONE BUDGET TO FUND THE POSTING AND USE OF THE DOMAIN NAME ON THE DIXIE ZONE WEBSITE.
- 3. 2014 DIXIE ZONE CALENDAR EVENTS A list has been accumulated of known Dixie Zone events, both pool and open water, for 2014. These lists will be posted on the Dixie Zone website after being updated.
- 4. 2014 DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIP EVENTS

A. Pool Meets
The following bids were received for the 2014 Dixie Zone Championships: SCY- Raleigh, NC March 29 & 30 LCM- Clearwater, Fl (July 26&27); Greenville,SC (June 21&22); Tupelo, MS (June 27-29)
SCM- Atlanta, GA (December 13&14); Orlando, FL (October 10-12)
MSA TO AWARD THE 2014 DIXE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIPS TO THE FOLLOWIING BIDDERS:

#### SCY-RALEIGH,NC; LCM-TUPELO,MS; SCM-ATLANTA,GA.

#### B. Open Water MSA TO DETERMINE THE SITE FOR THE DIXIE ZONE OPEN WATER CHAMPIONSHIPS WITH AN ONLINE VOTE OF THE LMSC CHAIRS AFTER THE CONVENTION.

5. OPEN WATER SERIES 2013 Jerry Clark thanked Tim Root, who developed the scoring system for the Open Water Series and will be tabulating the results. Micah Lawrence has designed certificates for the winners-Jerry suggested we send this to each winner in a PDF or Word File so that swimmer has the option to print it out for a certificate.

#### 6. OLD BUSINESS

A. GUIDELINES FOR HOSTING DIXIE ZONE EVENTS- Rob moved that all Dixie Zone Championships should have some sort of team awards. There was discussion as to how the teams should be labeled, and the general consensus was not to be too restrictive since some Zone Championships would have much smaller attendance than others. MSA TO REQUIRE ALL DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIPS TO HAVE A MINIMUM OF 3 COMBINED TEAM AWARDS, WHICH SHALL HAVE THE WORDS "DIXIE ZONE CHAMPIONSHIP' INCLUDED IN SOME FORM. THIS INFORMATION SHALL BE INCLUDED IN THE MEET INFORMATION.

B. LMSC STANDARDS Jerry noted that some meet directors felt that 2 weeks was not enough time for submitting meet results for Top Ten and Records. Several meet directors at the meeting commented that they felt that 2 weeks was in fact ample time.

#### 7. NEW BUSINESS

- A. Election of Dixie Zone Chair Jerry notifed the members that it was time to elect a Dixie Zone Chair for the next 2 year term. Lisa Watson nominated Jerry Clark for re-election. Ed Saltzman nominated Matt Hooper. Jack Groselle nominated Lisa Watson-Lisa declined. MSA TO ELECT MATT HOOPER AS THE NEXT DIXIE ZONE CHAIR. Lisa thanked Jerry for his service as Dixie Zone Chair for the last 2 years.
- B. Other- Don Gilchrist announced that Greensboro is planning to bid for 2016 SC Nationals. They will likely co-host with Raleigh Masters. Jack Groselle pointed out that these bids could be for 2016 or 2017.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 AM.

eeting was adjourned at